
Every roundup of the best all-inclusive resorts for families tells you the same things: the beach is lovely, the buffet is vast, the kids will adore it. None of them tells you the things that actually decide whether the trip works — whether the kids’ club takes a three-year-old in pull-ups, whether it closes for two hours in the middle of the day, whether the character breakfast everyone photographs is included or $18 a child, or whether “adults-only” at the resort next door means 18 or 16.
This is that guide. Every figure below comes from the brand’s or the property’s own website, checked in October 2026.
The kids’ club table
This is the single most useful comparison in family all-inclusive travel, and almost nobody publishes it accurately. Age bands and hours vary enormously, and the difference between a club that runs 9am–9pm and one that runs 10am–5pm is the difference between a holiday and a shift rota.
| Resort / brand | Age bands | Hours | Included or paid | Potty-trained required? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beaches Resorts | Infants 0–2; Toddlers 3–4; Navigators 5–7; Adventurers 8–10; Tweens 11–14; Teens 15–17 | 9am–9pm (varies by resort) | Included | Toddlers 3–4 only |
| Beaches Turks & Caicos | Same six bands | Infants/Toddlers 7:30am–5pm and 6–9pm, closed 12–2pm daily for deep cleaning; ages 5+ 8am–9pm | Included; private childcare extra | Toddlers 3–4 only |
| Franklyn D. Resort, Jamaica | Yellow Bird Kids Club, ages 2–11 | 7am–10pm daily | Included | Not stated |
| Club Med | Baby Club 4–23 months; Petit Club 2–3; Mini Club 4–10; Teens Club 11–13; Chill Pass 14–17 | Not published; Petit Club evening care 7–11pm | Baby and Petit Club cost extra; Mini, Teens and Chill Pass included | Not stated |
| Grand Velas Riviera Maya | Kids 4–12; Teens 13–18 | Kids 9am–10:45pm; Teens 11am–midnight | Included | Not stated |
| Grand Velas Los Cabos | Kids 4–12; Teens Club | 9am–11pm daily | Included; babysitting after 11:05pm extra | Not stated |
| Dreams / Hyatt Inclusive | Explorer’s Club, ages 3–12 | 9am–10pm daily | Not stated; babysitting extra | Not stated |
| Nickelodeon Punta Cana | Club Nick, ages 4–12 | 10am–5pm | Not stated | Not stated |
| Atlantis Paradise Island | Atlantis Kids Adventures, ages 3–12 | Not published | Paid, pre-booked sessions | Yes — all children, diaper-free |
| Four Seasons Maldives Kuda Huraa | Kuda Koamas Club, ages 4–12 | 9am–6pm daily | Not stated; babysitting from age 1 | Not stated |
| Tyler Place, Vermont | Babies & toddlers; 2½–3; 4–5; then grade-based to 10th grade | Mornings and evenings; afternoons kept for family time | Included, incl. infant and toddler care | Not stated |
| C Lazy U Ranch, Colorado | Cowpokes 3–5; Mustangs 6–12 | 8:45am–12, 1:45–4pm, 6–8pm | Included | Not stated |
| Vista Verde, Colorado | Tots 3–5; Kids 6–10; Tweens 11–13; Teens 14–17 | 9:30am–12:30pm and 2–4pm | Included | Yes — Tots |
| The Resort at Paws Up, Montana | Little Discoverers 3–5; Adventure Club 6–12 | Full day 8 hrs; half day 4 hrs | Paid: $375 full day, $205 half day per child | Not stated |
Three things jump out. Beaches Turks & Caicos closes its infant and toddler nurseries from noon to 2pm every day for cleaning — plan lunch accordingly. Club Med charges extra for the two youngest clubs, the ones families with babies most need. And Atlantis, which many parents assume is the default family resort, runs a paid, pre-booked kids’ programme and requires every child to be out of nappies.
The nanny models, compared
Two resorts build childcare into the rate rather than selling it by the hour, and they do it very differently.
Franklyn D. Resort in Runaway Bay, Jamaica assigns every family its own Vacation Nanny on arrival, trained in both childcare and housekeeping, who bathes and feeds the children and takes them to activities. She is with the family daily from 8:30am to 4:40pm, included in the rate. After 4:40pm there is “a nominal charge of US$12.00 per hour” paid directly to the nanny; a second nanny is US$50 per day. For a family with two or three young children, this is structurally different from a kids’ club and is the reason FDR keeps its following.
Beaches staffs climate-controlled nurseries with certified nannies who specialise in children aged 0–24 months, and private childcare is available for babies as young as three months — but it is charged. The only rate Beaches publishes is $20 per hour for evening nanny care; daytime private childcare carries a two-hour minimum and you must ring for pricing.
The Sesame Street question
Beaches’ partnership with Sesame Street is current for 2026 — the programme is “Caribbean Adventures with Sesame Street,” the on-resort club is Camp Sesame, and it runs at the brand’s two open resorts, Turks & Caicos and Negril. Sesame Street is tagged “Always Included.”
But the experiences families actually plan around are paid add-ons, listed under Vacation Add-Ons → Optional Enhancements:
| Experience | Turks & Caicos | Negril |
|---|---|---|
| Character Breakfast (45 min) | $14 adult / $18 child; under 2 free | $16 adult / $18 child; under 2 free |
| Sesame Street Sunrise Yoga | $70 first child, $65 each additional | $70 / $65 |
| Night Night, Sleep Tight (15 min) | $90 family with one child; $30 each additional child | $90 / $30 |
| All-Access Photo Session | $50 per family | $50 per family |
| Private birthday party (1 hr) | $250 up to 5 guests, to $350 up to 15 | Same |
Both pages define a “child” as newborn to 15 years of age. The characters are included; the fifteen minutes alone with one of them is not.
Adults-only does not reliably mean 18+
This is the policy that catches families out most often, in both directions — a resort that will not take your 15-year-old, or one that will take your 16-year-old when you assumed it wouldn’t.
| Resort / brand | Minimum age |
|---|---|
| Sandals Resorts (all 17 resorts) | 18 |
| Couples Resorts, Jamaica | 18 |
| Excellence Coral Playa Mujeres | 18 |
| Le Blanc Spa Resort (Cancún, Los Cabos) | 18 |
| Club Med Turkoise, Turks & Caicos | 18 |
| Atelier Playa Mujeres, Cancún | 16 |
| Hotel Xcaret Arte, Riviera Maya | 16, if accompanied by a parent or guardian |
Worth noting honestly: Secrets, Breathless, UNICO, TRS Yucatán and RIU all confirm they are adults-only but publish no minimum age on their own sites. Do not assume 18 for those — ring and ask.
Age limits inside family resorts catch people out too. At Grand Velas Riviera Maya, Cocina de Autor and Piaf are for guests 16 and over, with children 12 and over admitted only between 6 and 7pm; Bistro is 16+; and the Grand Class oceanfront infinity pool is adults-only. At Grand Velas Los Cabos, Cocina de Autor is 18+, the premium bars are 21+, and the Serenity Pool is 16+. Hotel Xcaret México splits the difference structurally: Casa Tierra is aimed at families while Casa Fuego and Casa Agua are adults-only.
Child pricing, where brands publish it
| Brand | Published child policy |
|---|---|
| Club Med | Under 4 stay free at family destinations; ages 4–11 at 50% off; ages 12–15 at 20% off. Free children must share the room (a connecting room qualifies). Membership fees of $60 per adult and $30 per child are extra. |
| Grand Velas Los Cabos | Infants 0–3 free; children 4 and up are charged, varying by season. |
| Palladium Hotel Group | Children counted up to age 12, generally at 50% off; in the Americas an infant is under 2. Age is taken on the day of arrival. |
| Beaches | Booking form defines adults as 16+, children 2–15, infants under 2. |
| The Resort at Paws Up | Under 3 free including meals; ages 4–11 $216 per night with three meals; ages 12–20 $348 per night. |
| Tyler Place, Vermont | Children’s pricing covers ages 2½ through 10th grade: $1,176–$1,575 per child per week by season. 10% service charge, no tipping. |
| Vista Verde, Colorado | Summer 2027: children 3–13 deduct $600 from the adult rate. Winter: children 6–13 deduct $100 per night. |
The Club Med line is the one to read twice. The under-4 free policy is genuinely generous — but Baby Club Med and Petit Club Med, the clubs those same under-4s would use, carry an additional charge, and Club Med’s terms specify that cost applies “at full day rate during entire stay booked.”
Family rooms: who actually publishes occupancy
Almost no all-inclusive brand publishes maximum occupancy, which makes planning for five or six people unexpectedly hard. Three exceptions:
Grand Velas Riviera Maya states it outright for its Two Bedroom Family Suite: “Ideal for 6 adults and 2 minors (ages 0 to 15), or 4 adults and 4 minors,” at 2,368 sq ft with one king and two queens. Grand Velas Los Cabos publishes “maximum capacity for 6 adults or 4 adults and 2 children” and offers cribs, strollers and a baby concierge. Franklyn D. Resort publishes the most complete configuration set of any resort checked — 56 suites in one- to four-bedroom layouts, including a beachfront penthouse with a sleeping loft for children and a 1,200 sq ft three-bedroom suite.
Tyler Place is the only property in this research to state the small thing that matters most to parents of babies: “Cribs, high chairs, and child seats for bikes are at no charge.”
Credentials: concentrated in one company
The honest finding here surprised us. Family all-inclusives are not credential-free — but the credentials belong almost entirely to Velas Resorts and the Xcaret group, not to the brands families search for.
On AAA’s 2026 Five Diamond list, the genuinely all-inclusive, child-accepting properties are Grand Velas Riviera Maya, Grand Velas Los Cabos, Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, Hotel Xcaret México, La Casa De La Playa and Grand Luxxe at Vidanta. No Beaches property, no Club Med, no Dreams resort and no Nickelodeon resort holds AAA Five Diamond for 2026. There are zero Five Diamond hotels in Jamaica, the Bahamas or Turks & Caicos.
Forbes Travel Guide 2026 rates Grand Velas Los Cabos at Five-Star, and Grand Velas Riviera Maya and Hotel Xcaret México at Four-Star. MICHELIN Keys are effectively absent from the family all-inclusive category altogether — the 2026 global Key selection names no all-inclusive hotel in Mexico, Jamaica, Turks & Caicos, the Bahamas, the Dominican Republic or the Maldives.
What changed in 2025 and 2026
Beaches is now a two-resort brand. The official Beaches site lists only Beaches Turks and Caicos and Beaches Jamaica Negril. Beaches Ocho Rios closed on 31 May 2025 for a major renovation by its third-party owner, and no reopening date has been announced — yet Beaches’ own blog still lists it as operating, which is a trap a great many articles have fallen into.
Sandals Resorts International, which owns Beaches, announced a near-$1 billion expansion in March 2025 intended to double the brand within five years: Beaches Barbados (600 rooms), Beaches Exuma in the Bahamas (a conversion of Sandals Emerald Bay), Beaches Runaway Bay in Jamaica (around 400 suites and villas), and a 101-suite Treasure Beach Village expansion at Turks & Caicos taking it to 858 keys. No opening year has been announced for any of them.
After Hurricane Melissa in October 2025, Beaches Negril reopened on 6 December 2025 with all facilities available. Three Sandals properties stayed closed until 30 May 2026.
Safety: what the official sources actually say
Parents ask, and the honest answer is more reassuring than the internet implies. As of late October 2026, every major family all-inclusive destination sits at Level 2 — Exercise increased caution on the US State Department scale: Jamaica, the Dominican Republic, Mexico, Turks and Caicos, and the Bahamas. That is the same tier France, Germany and the United Kingdom have carried.
Mexico is rated state by state, and the two states that matter here — Quintana Roo (Cancún, Riviera Maya) and Baja California Sur (Los Cabos) — are both Level 2, the lowest tier applied to any Mexican state. Jamaica carries Level 3 advisories for specific named areas, all for crime; Negril is not among them. The Dominican Republic has no regional sub-levels at all.
On health: the CDC currently has no Level 2, 3 or 4 travel health notices for any of these destinations. The only notices touching them are Level 1 “Practice Usual Precautions” — global measles across the region, and global dengue for the Maldives.
Three resorts that are not all-inclusive, however they are listed
Atlantis Paradise Island. Its own travel-agent fact sheet never describes the room rate as all-inclusive, sells dining plans separately — they “must be purchased in advance of arrival” and “do not include lunch” — and lists a short set of included items: movies, casino gaming lessons, Wi-Fi, the shuttle, Aquaventure, The Dig and the fish feeding.
The Resort at Paws Up appears in Forbes’ all-inclusive collection, but its own rate policies add a 20% resort fee on lodging and food and beverage, book activities separately through the concierge, and charge $375 a day for the kids’ club.
Woodloch Pines, Pennsylvania calls itself an all-inclusive family resort, and its American Plan does include meals, activities and entertainment — but alcohol, spa, wine tasting, paintball, excursions and fishing licences are all excluded, best-value rates include only two meals a day, and advertised rates exclude 7.5% tax and an 18% service charge.
Frequently asked questions
Which all-inclusive resort is best for families with babies?
Franklyn D. Resort in Jamaica, if you want hands-on help: every family gets a Vacation Nanny from 8:30am to 4:40pm included in the rate. Beaches runs climate-controlled nurseries and takes babies from three months into private childcare, but charges for it. Club Med’s Baby Club Med takes infants from four months with 24/7 bottle rooms — at an additional cost.
Do kids’ clubs at all-inclusive resorts cost extra?
Usually not, but there are real exceptions. Beaches, Grand Velas, C Lazy U, Vista Verde and Tyler Place all include them. Club Med charges extra for Baby Club Med and Petit Club Med. Atlantis charges for every session. Paws Up charges $375 per child per day.
Do children need to be potty trained for kids’ clubs?
It varies and it is rarely stated clearly. Beaches requires it only for the Toddlers 3–4 band. Vista Verde requires it for Tots. Atlantis requires all children to be “potty trained and diaper/pull-up free.” Most other brands do not publish a policy.
What age is “adults only” at all-inclusive resorts?
Most often 18 — Sandals, Couples, Le Blanc, Excellence and Club Med Turkoise all set it there. But Atelier Playa Mujeres and Hotel Xcaret Arte both admit guests from 16. Several large adults-only brands publish no age at all.
Are any family all-inclusive resorts AAA Five Diamond?
Yes, but very few, and they are concentrated: Grand Velas Riviera Maya, Grand Velas Los Cabos, Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, Hotel Xcaret México and La Casa De La Playa. No Beaches, Club Med, Dreams or Nickelodeon property holds it for 2026.
Is Beaches Ocho Rios open?
No. It closed on 31 May 2025 for renovation by its third-party owner and no reopening date has been announced. Beaches currently operates two resorts: Turks & Caicos and Negril.
Is Atlantis Paradise Island all-inclusive?
No. Dining plans are bought separately in advance and do not cover lunch, and the kids’ programme is paid by the session.
Related reading: our multigenerational luxury family vacation planning guide, the best luxury hotels in Turks and Caicos, Mexico’s best luxury all-inclusive resorts and the best in the world.
Image: beach service at Grace Bay, Providenciales, Turks and Caicos — photograph by VV Nincic, licensed CC BY 2.0 via Wikimedia Commons.


